I just had to go there…

24 05 2012

I really have not wanted this blog to be about Christianity. I realize though that if I am going to tell my story, I must tell this part as well. Jesus is a big part of my life, so it wouldn’t be a complete story if I didn’t tell it all. I am in no way trying to convince anyone of anything. I am simply telling my story, from my perspective.

I don’t know the answer to the division between the Church and LGBT issues. I only know how my mind and heart were changed. Once I started to believe that homosexuality wasn’t wrong I was still confused about what to do with the scriptures that specifically speak about it. I mean as a Christian I believe the bible is the word of God. It is a bit funny to me now though – the fact that the verses on homosexuality are quoted when we tend to ignore so many other verses. No one is stoning women who are found to not be virgins on their wedding night anymore. Women are going to church and not covering their heads…. etc…

The bible has some pretty sad history. Did you know the bible was used as a defense against keeping slaves? If you look through the bible you will find verses on telling slaves how to behave. The bible was also used to keep women from voting. This is proof that the bible must be read with the culture and times it was written in mind. Women were not much more than property back in those days. This strong – willed woman says thank the Lord for evolution of the species!!

If someone doesn’t want to look at both sides and refuses to see truth – nothing I say here will stir their brains to wake up. If, by chance, you are seeking truth about what the bible REALLY says then I will help you find some great resources. The truth is – my peace came after I watched one movie – “For the Bible Tells Me So”. You can find it on amazon or Netflix. It is well worth your time. It is a documentary that follows several families of faith and how they dealt with their child’s coming out. It also contains one of my favorite quotes: “It is OK to have a 5th grade understanding of the bible, as long as you are in the 5th grade.”

Another great place to turn is Kathy Baldock. She is a straight Christian who, like me, used to believe that homosexuality was a choice and a sin. She now runs a non-profit organization that is helping to heal the schism between the church and LGBT people. She has done extensive research and answers the questions about the scriptures better than I could ever hope to!! http://canyonwalkerconnections.com/category/verses-resources/ Click here and start perusing.

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that I am a bit angry. Angry at the churches that convinced me it was OK to hate the sin and love the sinner. HELLO – homosexuality is NOT a sin. I do feel as a Christian culture we have been duped, lied to, led astray! Did you know the word homosexuality was not even IN the bible until the 1940s?!!! Did you know Jesus never said one word about homosexuality? And it was happening in his day… I am a bit angry that I sat in churches with my sweet boy and he heard sermons about homosexuals going to hell and he left there knowing they were talking about him and had nightmares about it for years. I am angry at the Christians who said they were our friends – but have abandoned us since he came out and we supported him. I am angry at the institution called “church” that does not preach nor stand behind Jesus’ teachings about loving your neighbor. Jesus didn’t add any exceptions to that command – NONE. OK – maybe I am more angry than I realized because I am now having to censor what I would really like to type here. I will just end by saying – it is NOT OK – to claim Christianity and hate a group of people. It is not right. I know one thing – just as I am ashamed of my ancestors who owned slaves – one day this generation will have to answer to the generations that come after us about how we handled this issue of homosexuality. Lord help us to make the right choices now.

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 05 2012
Melissa

AMEN!!! What a POWERFUL post !! Thank you so much for giving us recourses and for shedding light on these scriptures !!

24 05 2012
michelesmusings

thanks Melissa. Glad it was empowering! God really doesn’t want us to be in the dark. There is truth and power in the light!!

Leave a Reply

