Is it working?

28 07 2012

I know we are all tired of hearing about Chick-Fil-A. I really just think it is a symptom of the bigger picture though. There is a group of people, heck – as a Christian they ARE my group of people – EEEK!, who is discriminating against an entire group of people based on the “bible”. I have several Facebook friends posting things in favor of Chick-Fil-A – and it has me in a funk. I take it personally – because to me it is personal.

I have been really down – I wonder if our fight to educate people about the truth is even doing any good. Is it working? Are people changing their minds at all? I was feeling pretty defeated – but then I realized – YES – we are making  a difference. Just 10 short years ago I would’ve been the one defending Chick-Fil-A! One person at a time we are making a difference. I MUST believe this – all of the work we are all doing – it may seem slow, but one person at a time, people are changing.

Here is the post I put on my FB status today:

“I write this with a heavy heart. As I watch you – my friends and family – post and like posts that support Chick-Fil-A it hurts my heart. I maybe taking this too personally – but to me this is personal. I recognize that I have a child who w…ill be discriminated against his entire life by a certain group of people – even though my sweet boy has a pure, sweet heart. This isn’t about what Chick-Fil-A does – I do not know them nor do we even have any of them here – this is about getting on my FB page and seeing my friends and family post this stuff. This is about my son, and the family and friends that I love with my whole heart that this affects. I have tossed around whether to just stay off of FB until this blows over. But I am not a person who just walks away – I am a fighter – especially when it is something I believe in. 10 yrs ago – I would’ve been the one posting my support of Chick-Fil-A – that gives me hope. People can learn the truth about what the bible REALLY says about homosexuality. Jesus himself said NOTHING about it – not one word. The bible was used to defend slavery and to keep women from voting. PLEASE do some research. There are many resources out there – start here – and let me know if you want more. And just remember when you post something – it isn’t random – you need to see my beautiful son’s face – these are real people – who do not have a lifestyle – they have a life. www.believeoutloud.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

