“God loves you and so do I”

20 08 2012

Sometimes I hesitate to be forthcoming about being a Christian. Don’t get me wrong – I love God with my whole heart, but his followers are a whole different story sometimes. I am not sure how we went from our mission of “loving our neighbors as ourselves” to thinking it is our job to correct everything we think is “unchristian” in the world. My Mama always taught me, “You can catch more flies with honey than vinegar”. I think there is too much vinegar coming from Christians lately.

I have been asked by non-believers why we even care what Christians think. I think it is something that must be considered because honestly, Christians are the main reason the US in not embracing equality. I do not desire to argue with anyone or convince anyone. I personally am so grateful for having my eyes opened to the truth about what the bible really says about homosexuality that I want to share that gift with Christians who do want to hear it. Along the way, I have encountered many who do not want to hear it. One day they will though. Probably not from me, since they will have long ago shut me out of their life like an irritating clanging cymbal, but from someone. Truth always prevails.

I personally believe God places the passions and desires in our hearts as a way of leading us to the work He has for us to do. At almost 44 years old (OUCH!) I can honestly say that I have finally found the niche God has for me. My work with PFLAG and the LGBT community has been the most fulfilling thing I have ever had the privilege of being a part of. I know today that if something happened to my son or if he suddenly woke up straight tomorrow, that I would continue this work. It is a part of who I am now. I will not quit or slow down until the discrimination stops, not only in my country but worldwide.

So, next time you hear something hateful in the name of God, please remember that all Christians do not feel that way. There are many Christians who accept you and/or your loved ones exactly as you are. We have not been as loud as the others, and for that I apologize. The next time you hear a Church Bell ringing please listen closely – that is the clanging cymbal of my voice – yelling the truth above all the foolish chatter – “God loves you! And so do I!”

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

