Caterpillar to Butterflies…

30 10 2012

I have met several new LGBT people lately. Most are pretty confident in who they are. They feel strong that they are who they are, and that even if not everyone they meet understands – they are OK with who they are. Then there are those who are still trying to figure that all out. It is a brave and courageous journey. I admire them so very much.

It is really fun to watch someone go from being a scared, timid, insecure person hiding who they are to being a person who is starting to accept themselves. I don’t think it happens overnight. Let’s face it – even as a straight person, I have struggled with accepting myself. We all have our battles and our demons. One reason I do the work I do and why I feel so passionate about fighting this fight alongside my LGBT family and friends is that being LGBT shouldn’t be something to “overcome”. One day it won’t be an issue. I believe that with all of my heart or I wouldn’t keep fighting. We certainly don’t have support groups for “people with green eyes”. I mean they may be out there, but certainly I have never in my lifetime heard anyone put down for the color of their eyes. Although we don’t choose our eye color anymore than we choose to be gay or straight.

I had some weird dreams last night. The 1st dream I ran my 1st 5k – which if you are following my other blog will make sense to you. The 2nd dream I had was about me confronting the people who told me growing up that being gay was a choice and a sin. Man – I let them HAVE it! I was like: “If you still actually believe being gay is a choice and a sin then you are beyond ignorant.” It seems like a strong statement, but it is the truth really. Of course, these are the same people who probably believe that you can’t be a Christian and believe in evolution – or at least that is what they also taught me when I was young as well. Where does their fear of science come from. I know where it does not come from – God. You can not study science and not see God in it. Anyway – subject for another blog.

Back to the evolution. It brings tears to my eyes to see how some of these people have gone from scared insecure people to strong, mentally healthy spirits. It reminds me much of a caterpillar to a butterfly. So, if you are reading this, and still feel like a caterpillar – have hope my friend – there is a wonderful, beautiful future ahead for you. There are many of us who will sit patiently by you and hold your hand as you crawl into the cocoon. We won’t leave your side until you are flying off on your own and loving you – exactly as you are. You are not alone – I believe in you – even on the days you do not believe in yourself.

Actions

Information

6 responses

30 10 2012
switching teams

Great post! I am a butterfly these days. Although I don’t shout from the roof tops who I am, I don’t hide it if asked. I freely say that I have a partner. I recently did this at work and the new coworker I was with later asked me if this was a “life partner”. I said it was and she confided some things with me, that I won’t share here. Life is so much better now that I am happy with who I am.

1 11 2012
rainbowicecream

Isn’t that great that when we become more transparent we give others the courage to open up as well? Good Job Switching teams!!!

2 11 2012
switching teams

yes it is great and thanks!

1 11 2012
gabbigalegoober

I LOVE this metaphor! I have my caterpillar days, and even some butterfly days. The freeing feeling of being a flying butterfly is amazing!

1 11 2012
rainbowicecream

maybe we go back and forth and slowly over time fly more and more?!!

1 11 2012
gabbigalegoober

Ya, that makes sense. Kinda how i sometimes go back and fourth with liking girls or guys more. Makes me feel like a pendulum.

Leave a Reply

