Missions

2 12 2012

I may be weird – but I do feel like I get called on “missions”. Not really the “Mission Impossible” exciting kind of missions – but things that just seem to seep into my very being and won’t let me go until I do something about it.

I feel strongly about speaking out as a mom of a bisexual kid – but I also feel compelled through our PFLAG Bozeman/GV work. I have been doing those things for a while now and still find them very energy giving, but I have recently been called in a different direction. I have blogged before about my grief over how Christians treat LGBT people, being a Christian myself. I often even find myself hesitant to speak out and say I am a Christian – I generally say “I am a follower of Christ” or “I am a progressive Christian”. I really feel strongly that there is so much misinformation and confusion out there in our churches about the LGBT community. Most Christians do not even realize that Jesus said nothing about homosexuality, I didn’t for most of my life. I want to be a part of the change. I see it starting to happen, in many denominations and it is exciting. We need more people to hear the truth. I want to stand in that gap between the truth about LGBT people and the church.

So, I have been feeling this way for a while now, but wasn’t really sure how to go about it or where to start. I have opened up the conversation and will be doing some PFLAG Faith work  at my own church – but my vision is bigger than that. Well, just as God sent Aaron to Moses – He has sent me a cohort!! A woman who found my blog in internet land – and we live in the same town! Coincidence? I think not! She has the same vision. Our stories are similar – she is even from Texas! Could it be that God put us both right here in this town, right now at this time to begin the work He wants to do here?

I am super excited and honored and scared, but mostly excited! We had a face to face meeting recently, she asked me to coffee, me not having a clue why – and what a wonderful surprise it all turned out to be. I do not even know if she really knew why she asked me, just that she knew we needed to get together. When we were finished and putting on our coats it was all just really starting to sink in. I asked her, “are you and an organized, detailed person by chance?” She replied, “Yes!” See – God does send us exactly what we need when we need it, because those are big weaknesses of mine! OH MY – you should pray for my new friend, because I am probably going to drive her batty with my lack of attention to details. Even still, somehow I feel we will make an amazing team! This town may not know what has hit them!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

