Breaking Stereotypes One Boob at a Time

4 07 2013

I understand bisexual stereotypes, I used to have plenty of them myself. I could not for the life of me understand how anyone could be attracted to both sexes. I suppose that is because I am a straight up, heterosexual woman, no pun intended. I now understand bisexuality as a much more beautiful thing. My son doesn’t really see gender, he sees deep into someone’s soul. He is attracted to people depending on their inner beauty, not their outward appearance.

This brings me to today’s topic. It is interesting that most people’s perception of bisexuality is that they would just hook up with anyone. I am sure there are bisexual people who do, just like there are heterosexuals and gay people who do. What cracks me up about my kid is that if someone is dressed very provocatively he won’t even give them a second glance. Last night we were at a rodeo, there were plenty of short shorts and cleavage. One cute girl passed  by who did have quite a bit hanging out up top, if you follow. I said, “She is cute, Jake.” His response: “She probably has an STD.” Of course, I laughed pretty hard at that, but then this truth struck me. The truth that he breaks most of the stereotypes that I have ever thought or heard about bisexual people.

Don’t get me wrong, he is a 20-year-old man and can appreciate a beautiful body just like the rest of us. I think as humans we don’t need to be ashamed of our bodies and we certainly are weird as far as the amount of sex that is used in advertising in this country yet no one is actually talking about sex. It isn’t healthy in my opinion, but that is a topic for another day. I am talking about breaking stereotypes here. I can assure you that I now know several bisexual people and all the ones I know are just as picky about who they date as my kid is.

Could it be that bisexual people actually have it right? They are looking at the soul of people and looking for beauty there. Nothing superficial or shallow appeals to them, they are seeking true inner beauty. And here I had lumped them all into the slutty, whore category for years. Shame on me.

Actions

Information

One response

5 07 2013
gabbigalegoober

o ya. we’re all a bunch of sluts! hahaha.

Leave a Reply

