Energy

22 07 2013

As a person, I only have so much energy to spread around. My energy supply is not endless. I can not just give endlessly, although it would be nice.

I am always willing to give anyone a chance, and then even a second chance. Once it become obvious that they are not seeking to actually hear a different view and just want to argue, I am learning to walk away. I have always been a person of perpetual hope, I always believe people and things can and will change. It is a hard lesson for me to understand that people must want change. I could talk until I am blue in the face, but they will not hear anything I say unless they want to. And let’s face it, some people just don’t want to hear anything that differs from their point of view.

The other day I was upset about some Christians who were spreading their ignorance about marriage equality. My son very wisely looked me in the eye and said, “Mom. There is still a group of Christians who are racist. They use scripture to back up their beliefs and say they love God. They are the KKK. You are NOT going to convince the entire world that being queer is OK.”

I have a wise kid. So, from now on, I will recognize my limited energy and try to use it in places where it will make a difference. And as hard as it is to do, I will walk away from the ignorance and hope that someone else will come along that they will choose to listen to. Letting go can be very freeing indeed.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

